Reclaim your heart

By Yasmin Mogahed

imagesI recently read a very inspiring book called Reclaim your heart.

In my personal experience it has truly uplifted me and has made me look at life completely different.

I know that some of us feel a sense of attachment to certain things in our lives such as possessions; whether it is material possessions or emotional possessions such as a person we are involved with.

If you have ever faced this in your life where you feel like you have lost all hope, your mind and emotions seem out of control then I suggest you get yourself a copy of this book it will definitely change your life.

Before I share some insights of the book I would like to personally thank the Author Sister Yasmin Mogahed for inspiring me, you are truly a special Muslimah and role model and hope to read more inspiring books written by you Inshallah.

In her book sister Yasmin speaks about false attachments and how this could ultimately break us.

“Until we can break these false attachments we cannot empty the vessel of our heart. And if we do not empty that vessel we cannot truly fill it with Allah.

A Gift in our hand or in our Hearts

There are two places to hold something, in the hand or in the heart.

Where do we hold a gift? A gift is not held in the heart it is held in the hand so if we lose that gift it won’t create a pain in our heart. When I read these words I thought about emotional attachments which when I lost them I felt extremely hurt and that was because I held those things in my heart and not my hand. This pain was when I knew that what I just lost was an attachment.

When we keep the gift in our heart and Allah in our hand we will definitely feel extreme pain when it is taken away.

How would you feel if you lost Allah? Would you still feel alive? Our false dependencies on his gifts have deceived us so when we lose Allah we still think we are alive…in fact we are not. Whatever lives in our hearts controls us.

Detachments from the world

Complete peace is not something of a moment it is a state of eternal.

Detachment is when the Dunyah remains in our hand, not in our heart. As Ali (ra) expressed, “Detachment is not that you should own nothing, but that nothing should own you.

Imprisonment

Ibn Taymiyyah (ra) said “The one who is truly imprisoned is the one whose heart is imprisoned from Allah and the captivated one is the one whose desires enslaved him”

If a person or something in our life is our reason for living then something is totally wrong. If something finite temporary and fading becomes the centre of our life the reason for existing we will surely break. Imprisonment is the result putting anything where only Allah should be in our hearts.

Furthermore if Allah blesses us with someone that we love, we forget that Allah is the source of that blessing and we begin to love that person as we should love Allah.

Seeking perfection

 

Perfection cannot be found in the material world it can only be found in Allah.

This means you will love what he loves and not love what he does not love. And when you do love you will give to the creation not for what you can get in return from them.

And we should never love something other than Allah in such a way that it would be impossible to continue life without it. This type of love is not love but actually worship and it causes nothing but pain.

The moment you or I allow anything other than our creator to define our success, our failure, our happiness, or our worth we have entered into a silent but destructive form of slavery

Reclaim your heart

By Yasmin Mogahed

I recently read a very inspiring book called Reclaim your heart.

In my personal experience it has truly uplifted me and has made me look at life completely different.

I know that some of us feel a sense of attachment to certain things in our lives such as possessions; whether it is material possessions or emotional possessions such as a person we are involved with.

If you have ever faced this in your life where you feel like you have lost all hope, your mind and emotions seem out of control then I suggest you get yourself a copy of this book it will definitely change your life.

Before I share some insights of the book I would like to personally thank the Author Sister Yasmin Mogahed for inspiring me, you are truly a special Muslimah and role model and hope to read more inspiring books written by you Inshallah.

In her book sister Yasmin speaks about false attachments and how this could ultimately break us.

“Until we can break these false attachments we cannot empty the vessel of our heart. And if we do not empty that vessel we cannot truly fill it with Allah.

A Gift in our hand or in our Hearts

There are two places to hold something, in the hand or in the heart.

Where do we hold a gift? A gift is not held in the heart it is held in the hand so if we lose that gift it won’t create a pain in our heart. When I read these words I thought about emotional attachments which when I lost them I felt extremely hurt and that was because I held those things in my heart and not my hand. This pain was when I knew that what I just lost was an attachment.

When we keep the gift in our heart and Allah in our hand we will definitely feel extreme pain when it is taken away.

How would you feel if you lost Allah? Would you still feel alive? Our false dependencies on his gifts have deceived us so when we lose Allah we still think we are alive…in fact we are not. Whatever lives in our hearts controls us.

Detachments from the world

Complete peace is not something of a moment it is a state of eternal.

Detachment is when the Dunyah remains in our hand, not in our heart. As Ali (ra) expressed, “Detachment is not that you should own nothing, but that nothing should own you.

Imprisonment

Ibn Taymiyyah (ra) said “The one who is truly imprisoned is the one whose heart is imprisoned from Allah and the captivated one is the one whose desires enslaved him”

If a person or something in our life is our reason for living then something is totally wrong. If something finite temporary and fading becomes the centre of our life the reason for existing we will surely break. Imprisonment is the result putting anything where only Allah should be in our hearts.

Furthermore if Allah blesses us with someone that we love, we forget that Allah is the source of that blessing and we begin to love that person as we should love Allah.

Seeking perfection

Perfection cannot be found in the material world it can only be found in Allah.

This means you will love what he loves and not love what he does not love. And when you do love you will give to the creation not for what you can get in return from them.

And we should never love something other than Allah in such a way that it would be impossible to continue life without it. This type of love is not love but actually worship and it causes nothing but pain.

The moment you or I allow anything other than our creator to define our success, our failure, our happiness, or our worth we have entered into a silent but destructive form of slavery.

I give this book a 10 out of 10 a

