By Fadia Bint Ismail

Many times we sometimes forget the importance of our duty toward our parents and the immense amount of respect we should have toward them. No matter if we like to admit it or not we are all guilty of causing some anger in our parents with our behavior and our manner of speaking.

In today’s culture we have adopted the “You cannot tell me what to do” attitude but if we only but knew the amount of weight our beloved Nabi Muhammad (SAW) placed on our parents with regards to respect and duty we would be ashamed of ourselves.

I am not about to preach about how perfect my relationship is with my own parents because nothing is perfect but when you are a child and you grow up your character and behavior either takes a turn for the good or bad. It is up too you whether or not you are mature enough to understand the responsibilities we have toward our parents whether we are a son or a daughter we all have the same duty.

I cannot say that I have never displeased my parents because I know many times they have been very unhappy, however no matter how angry they were they always loved me and took care of me.

And this is what we do not understand the amount of sacrifice, anguish and worry that we as kids put our parents through. You know when we will realize it…..when we have our own kids, but seriously should this be the deciding factor that only once we experience their pain and sacrifice then our mind will finally switch on and “Oh now I realize what my parents went through” it may be we only realize it once they are no longer on this Dunyah….

And so I share the sayings of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (SAW) about how we should treat our parents…..so next time your disrespectful remember these words…

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW)says Beware, abstain from angering the parents, the fragrance of paradise is perceived even at a distance of a thousand years, but those who are disobedient to parents and those who cut off family ties with relatives will not be able to smell it.

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW) says “One who displeases the parents it is as if he has displeased Allah. The one who hurts me and one who hurts me has hurt Allah.

The prophet Muhammad (SAW) stated “Allah will not speak to those who disobeyed their parents on the day of judgment, the one who is blessed with parents but does not fulfill their rights will not be forgiven by Allah.
Accursed is the one who beats their parents and their SALAAH will not be accepted”

 

Reminder foremost to myself..May Allah grant us all understanding Inshallah

