What is Modesty

Published by

on


By Fadia Bint Ismail

Modesty is a human characteristic, which may be viewed alternately as a virtue of weakness, most common definition derived from the dictionary is. shyness, simplicity and humility. In todays society these definitions may be considered negative because we live in a society that surrounds itself with self esteem, self respect and self expression. nevertheless a modest person can be viewed to have positive characteristics. Young women often ask can we dress modestly? Yes you can..Modesty does not only come from the way we dress, modesty is also something you can incorporate in your life style. for example quietness, shyness, and simplicity. A life of modesty is lived towards god and eachother. towards god we recognize the source of all our gifts, strengths and abilities. Modesty towards eachother, we show by honouring others before ourselves. There are many different interpretations of what “modesty” requires. Most agree that it is covering the “awrah”, from the belly button to the knees for men and from the head to the toes for women except the hands and the face or eyes, depending on what view one follows.

5 responses to “What is Modesty”

  1. Modesty of dress and Indian culture « kracktivist Avatar

    […] What is Modesty (chasingparadisegalz.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInDiggStumbleUponTumblrPrintEmailRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Leave a Comment by kracktivist on March 9, 2012  •  Permalink Posted in Advocacy, Human Rights, Justice, Kractivism, Law, Minority Rights, Women Rights Tagged Clothing, Culture of India, discrimination, equality, Facebook, feminism, gender, God, Human Rights, India, Modesty, Saravana Bhavan, Shiva, Women Rights […]

  2. paleochorology Avatar

    I have not checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  3. all-panting Avatar

    I like this web blog so much, saved to my bookmarks. “American soldiers must be turned into lambs and eating them is tolerated.” by Muammar Qaddafi.

  4. program pit 2014 Avatar

    I simply needed to say thanks once again. I’m not certain the things I would have achieved in the absence of the type of hints provided by you concerning this subject. It truly was a traumatic matter in my position, however , taking a look at a well-written manner you managed it forced me to leap with joy. Now i am happy for this information and then have high hopes you find out what an amazing job your are putting in teaching most people using your web page. I know that you haven’t come across any of us.

  5. http://antoni-macierewicz.blogspot.com/ Avatar

    I conceive this web site contains some really wonderful info for everyone. “A kiss, is the physical transgression of the mental connection which has already taken place.” by Tanielle Naus.

Leave a comment